Trump wins United States Presidential Election

Rubio takes Senate race

-Dunn D-2, Yoho D-3 and Lawson D-5 in Congressional race

Indiana Governor Michael R. Pence and Donald J. Trump.
-Courtesy Photo: donaldjtrump.com

By Tami Stevenson

America’s voice was heard throughout the nation as the United States presidential election, held November 8, 2016, chose Republican nominee Donald J. Trump as the nation’s 45th President, along with running mate, former six-term U.S. Congressman and Indiana Governor Michael R. Pence, as the nation’s 48th Vice President.

Democratic nominee former US Secretary of State Hillary Clinton, and her running mate, Virginia Senator Tim Kaine lost key battleground states as Trump’s “Make America Great Again” slogan resounded at the polls in light of an anemic and long failing economy.

In Florida, as of press-time, according to state unofficial results, Republican Marco Rubio (52.06%) took the US Senate race over Patrick Murphy (DEM) (44.24%) and Paul Stanton (LPF) (2.12%).

Neal Dunn (REP) (67.33%) won Representative in Congress D-2 over Walter Dartland (DEM) (29.93%) and Rob Lapham (LPF) (2.74%).

Ted Yoho (REP) (56.61%) emerged the victor over Kenneth McGurn (DEM) (39.75%) for the Representative in Congress D-3 race.

Al Lawson (DEM) (64.22%) won Representative in Congress D-5 over Glo Smith (REP) (35.78%).

The new District 3 State Senator is Bill Montford (DEM) (67.35%) winning over Nancy Miller (REP), (32.65%) and in the District 8

State Senate race voters chose Keith Perry (REP) (52.62%) over Rod Smith (DEM) (47.38%).

State Representative D-10 went to six year incumbent Elizabeth Porter (REP) (64.3%) won over Jerry Lawrence Bullard (DEM) (35.7%) .

State Representative D-21 shows Chuck Clemons (REP) (53.7%) over Marihelen Wheeler (DEM) (46.3%).

Find your local candidate results, listed by county, in the chart below.